Keweenaw's Copper Story

From 7,000 years ago to the 1900s people mined Keweenaw copper. Native peoples made copper into tools and trade items. Investors and immigrants arrived in the 1800s in a great mineral rush, developing thriving industries and cosmopolitan communities. Though the mines have since closed, their mark is still visible on the land and people.

A person with a headlamp on walks across a bridge underground.

Things to Do

Get out and experience all the Keweenaw has to offer this fall!

A tall steel building.

Keweenaw Heritage Sites

Explore the park's twenty-one partner sites.

A small girl poses for a photograph with a brick wall behind her.

Jacob A. Riis Traveling Exhibit

The Jacob A. Riis: How the Other Half Lives NEH Traveling Exhibition will be on display at the Calumet Visitor Center this fall.

A building with a sign that reads

Calumet Visitor Center Hours

Find out which days and times the Calumet Visitor Center is open.

A 1915 Calumet & Hecla Map of the Village of Red Jacket and vicinity.


Find your way around Michigan's Keweenaw Peninsula.

Illustrated 1881 map of Calumet & Hecla property and the Village of Red Jacket

Copper Mining Timeline

Explore a timeline of Michigan copper mining from over 7,000 years ago to the present.

Last updated: September 3, 2019

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

25970 Red Jacket Road
Calumet, MI 49913


(906) 337-3168

Contact Us