National Historic Landmarks Program

National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are historic properties that illustrate the heritage of the United States. The over 2,600 NHLs found in the U.S. today come in many forms: historic buildings, sites, structures, objects, and districts. Each NHL represents an outstanding aspect of American history and culture.

The National Historic Landmarks Program uses the skills of National Park Service staff to guide the nomination process for new Landmarks. Working with citizens across the nation, the NHL Program also assists existing Landmarks.

View of Alcatraz Island from the Pacific Ocean

Program Info

NHL Program Info & Research

View of Painted Desert Inn and horizon


Find National Historic Landmarks

front view of Iolani Palace


Become a National Historic Landmark

view of entrance to Hegeler Carus Mansion

Technical Assistance

Preserving Existing NHLs

View of entrance to Oak Hill with trees in front

Program Updates

NHL Program Updates

foyer of Sewall Belmont House


Frequently Asked Questions

Last updated: August 26, 2022