Plan Your Visit

5 people walking a grass path surrounded by trees
You can walk in their footsteps. Camp Ground Church, Illinois.


The sites on Trail of Tears National Historic Trail, stretching 5,043 miles across nine states, together form a journey of compassion and understanding. The trail commemorates the forced removal of Cherokee from their homelands; the paths that 17 Cherokee detachments followed westward; and the revival of the Cherokee Nation. We encourage you to retrace the trail on foot, by vehicle, over water, by bicycle or horse—to sacred sites that tell the story of suffering and intolerance, but just as important, one of survival.

Trip Planning

The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail passes through the present-day states of Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Tennessee. Due to the trail's length, you may decide to travel its entirety or just one or two sites. Take time to plan your trip to meet your needs.

Places to Go

Peruse an interactive map and lists of sites by state.

Passport to Your National Parks Program

Find out where to get your book stamped!

Trip Itineraries

Look at day-long itineraries and driving tours.


Read / print / order trail brochures.

Photos & Multimedia

Access film, exhibits, and a photo gallery.

Interactive Map

Locate sites and routes along five trail routes.

Trail of Tears Guidebooks

Find a bibliography of guidebooks for the Trail of Tears.

Travel and Tourism Contacts by State

Contact travel and tourism bureaus for various states.

Visiting the Cherokee Nation

Learn more about the Cherokee Nation.


Last updated: February 14, 2019

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

National Trails Intermountain Region
Trail of Tears National Historic Trail
PO Box 728

Santa Fe, NM 87504


(505) 988-6098

Contact Us