Last updated: August 10, 2021
Article
Old Courthouse Cultural Landscape

NPS

NPS
In 1976, the Old Courthouse was listed in the National Register as a component of the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial. Today, the Old Courthouse also appears on the National Park Service’s Underground Railroad Network to Freedom. It contains National Park Service offices, a museum, restored courtrooms, and exhibits about the 19th century judicial system.
Landscape Description
The Old Courthouse is located on approximately two acres near the Mississippi riverfront in downtown St. Louis. Chestnut and Market Street border the site to the north and south. The Old Courthouse shares a strong east-west axial relationship with Gateway Arch. Viewed from the west at the courthouse, the Arch frames views of the river. Luther Ely Smith Square and the pedestrian overpass also conform to this alignment.NPS / L. Edwards
Although other features may not directly contribute to the Old Courthouse’s period of significance from 1839 and 1862, they can provide further meaning and more local historical context. The Dred and Harriet Scott bronze sculpture, placed in 2012, honors the Scotts and their courage in confronting injustice. A Joseph Pulitzer Plaque was added to the east sidewalk in 1947 to commemorate the location of Joseph Pulitzer’s purchase of the St. Louis Dispatch in 1878. Corinthian and ionic capitals in the northeast and northwest courtyards, respectively, were relocated to the site from a building demolished for construction of Gateway Arch National Park.

Library of Congress
Historic Use
The county of St. Louis quickly determined its first courthouse, constructed in 1833 on land donated by Auguste Chouteau, inadequate to meet the needs of a quickly expanding population. In 1838, the county administered a contest for a larger courthouse design. Eventually, they selected Henry Singleton’s cruciform plan and construction started in 1839. In February 1845, the courthouse was opened and provided one of the largest public spaces in the city at that time. Emigrants traveling westward often met in the rotunda.In 1851, Thomas D. P. Lanham proposed a larger Renaissance style dome to replace the original one. His successor, William Rumbold, designed, engineered, and patented the lightweight iron skeletal design used for the St. Louis dome. Muralist August Becker, Charles Wimar, and Leon Pomerade redesigned the rotunda, which was heightened due to the dome modification.

NPS / Gateway Arch National Park Archives
The Old Courthouse continued to meet the needs of the city into the 20th century. In 1923, a bond passed that allocated funds for acquiring a new courthouse house. Groundbreaking for the new building took place in 1926. With the understanding operations would soon cease at the Old Courthouse, maintenance was withheld resulting in deterioration. In 1935, the designation of Jefferson National Expansion Memorial (currently known as Gateway Arch National Park) by President Franklin Delano Roosevelt included the Old Courthouse.
NPS / L. Edwards
Recently, the site of the Old Courthouse was slightly altered to install ramps for universal access. Today,even more visitors of Gateway Arch National Park can visit the Old Courthouse to understand its role in the greater history of St. Louis. The Old Courthouse also conveys its own unique history related to its design and association with important legal cases.
Quick Facts
- Cultural Landscape Type: Historic Designed Landscape
- National Register Significance Level: National
- Natioinal Register Significance Criteria: A, C
- Period of Significance: 1839-1930
Cultural Landscapes of the National Park Service
Click on the point or boundary to discover more!