Operating Hours & Seasons

View looking upward at bare trees with spots of green buds silhouetted against a blue sky dotted with white clouds.

NPS/Hindsley

Park Hours

Note: Following CDC and public health authority guidance, Appomattox Court House NHP is open daily from 9-5 with limited services. Check the Current Conditions page here for the most updated information.

Appomattox Court House NHP is open daily from 9:00 to 5:00. The park may be open from 9:00-2:00 on December 24 and 31. The park will be closed on December 25, January 1, and Thanksgiving Day.

Inclement weather can cause closures and delays. Call 434-352-8987 for weather closing information.

 
Two story brick courthouse building with dirt road leading to lower floor entrance. A prominent staircase leads to the second floor entrance with roofed landing and black door. Small group of visitors stand out front.
Begin your visit at the park's reconstructed courthouse visitor center

NPS/McGaha

Visitor Center - Appomattox Courthouse

Start your visit here at the reconstructed Appomatttox Courthouse building, which houses the park's visitor center. The original courthouse burned down in 1892 and was rebuilt in 1964 as the visitor center. Ask the staff here to help you plan your park visit, pick up brochures on local attractions and key Civil War subjects, learn more in the park's exhibits, and watch the park's 17-minute orientation film, "With Malice Toward None."

The visitor center is open from 9:00-5:00 daily.

 
A two story brick house with white porches on both floors sits between a blanket of bright green grass and a deep blue sky. The sun peeks from behind a tree in front of the house and casts long shadows on the grass. Three wooden outbuildings are visible.
Tour the McLean House, where the surrender took place, open daily.

NPS/Sanchez

McLean House

General Robert E. Lee surrendered the Army of Northern Virginia to General Ulysses S. Grant in the McLean House parlor on April 9, 1865. This event marked the beginning of the end of the Civil War.

The McLean House was originally constructed in 1848 as the guest house for the Raine Tavern. This house was disassembled to be rebuilt at the Chicago World's Fair; however, the investors involved in the move went backrupt. The house materials laid in the yard unprotected for over 50 years. When the home was rebuilt, only 5500 bricks remained. These bricks now frame the front door.

The house is open and staffed daily from 9:00-5:00 during the warm season. During winter months when visitation is slow, staff lead guided tours of the house throughout the day.

 
Two hands hold a piece of white, lined paper with four bank-check sized slips printed in black ink. Each section is an individual parole pass.
Parole passes enabled surrendered Confederate soldiers to make their way home.

NPS/Hindsley

Parole Pass Printing

The terms of the surrender allowed Confederate soldiers to be paroled and return home, instead of prison. During their April 10 meeting, Grant and Lee agreed that each Confederate would receive an individual parole pass certifying that the men would not take up arms against the United States. Per Grant's instructions, these passes could aid the former Confederates during their journey home, allowing them to use federal transportation (ships and trains where available) or to draw food and supplies from federally controlled stations in the South. Approximately 30,000 blank passes were printed at the Clover Hill Tavern in just 26 hours. After the Confederates surrendered their military equipment, they were eligible to receive the pass. Some higher ranking Confederates were paroled by Federal officers, but most passes were signed by Confederate officers for the men in their commands.

During the summer months park staff use the printing press above to print passes that they distribute to visitors on most days during June, July and the first half of August.

 
Unstained, dark, wood-frame and wood-panel one and half story home with small covered stoop, framed by tree trunk and branches to the right and a white picket fence at the bottom
Explore the rest of the village to uncover stories of the aftermath of surrender and Reconstruction in Appomattox.

NPS/McGaha

East End of the Village

The eastern portion of the village includes the Kelley/Robinson house, signs to mark the Confederate Stacking of Arms, and the location where Lee and Grant met again on April 10. A ranger is stationed at the East End of the village on most weekends during the summer to share these stories, including the life of John Robinson, who helped found the first African American church in Appomattox after he was emancipated. Visitors can also learn about the second meeting between Grant and Lee on April 10, 1865 and the Gordon/Chamberlain salute that started the formal surrender of Confederate infantry arms and flags on April 12, 1865.

 
A row of visitors dressed in summer attire listen closely to the male park ranger presenting a program, all seated in a row on the historic Tavern's wooden porch.
Listen in to a ranger-guided or living history program to learn more about the park's stories.

NPS/Hindsley

Guided Programs

During the warmer season, the park offers multiple daily guided talks provided by park ranger staff and living history staff, who portray individuals present in the village in 1865. All programs explore the surrender of the Army of Northern Virginia, whether through the lens of modern day historical understanding or through the perspective of a person who lived through the experience. Join a guided program to dig deeper into the park's stories and ask pressing questions!

A schedule of these activities can be found here.

Last updated: December 3, 2020

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Appomattox Court House National Historical Park
P.O. Box 218

Appomattox, VA 24522

Phone:

(434) 352-8987

Contact Us