9,000 Choctaw; 6,000 Chickasaw; and 4,000 Seminole from

their ancestral homes in the southeastern United States.

## What is the Trail of Tears?

From 1837 to 1839, thousands of Cherokee traveled along local roads and through what is now Laughlin Park on their way to Indian Territory in the West. Some groups encamped here on their journey.

The Cherokee, or the "Principal People" or *Ani'-Yun'* wiya, did not willingly leave their homeland in the southern Appalachian Mountains. The 1830 Indian Removal Act required that they surrender their land. In the decade that followed, the federal government forcibly removed Cherokee, Creek, Choctaw, Chickasaw, and Seminole from their homes in the Southeast and relocated them to Indian Territory in present-day Oklahoma.

This tragic journey is called the Trail of Tears.

