The National Park Service's Heritage Education Services and Federal Preservation Institute, in partnership with the Department of Veterans Affairs Historic Preservation Office, the National Preservation Institute, and the National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers, proudly invite you to explore the National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers. This Discover Our Shared Heritage Travel Itinerary highlights the 11 branches of the National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers, all of which are listed or have been determined eligible for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places. 

All 11 branches of the National Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers are active Veterans Affairs Medical Centers. Visitors to these facilities can view the historic buildings and landscapes in addition to providing valuable volunteer services to assist the veterans and the historic resources at the facilities.

Northwestern Branch: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Northwestern Branch

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Central Branch: Dayton, Ohio
Central Branch

Dayton, Ohio

Eastern Branch: Togus, Maine
Eastern Branch

Togus, Maine

Mountain Branch: Mountain Home, Tennessee
Mountain Branch

Mountain Home, Tennessee

Last updated: November 29, 2017