National Natural Landmarks by state


The Glens Natural Area
The Glens Natural Area, a National Natural Landmark in Pennsylvania.

There are 27 sites designated as National Natural Landmarks within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Natural features represented include one of the finest examples in the Eastern U.S. of a deep gorge, the largest “flying spit” in the Great Lakes region, one of the largest populations of serpentine aster, and one of the oldest organisms in the world. The first site in Pennsylvania to be designated a NNL was Wissahickon Valley in 1964, and the most recent designation was of Nottingham Park Serpentine Barrens in 2009. The 27 sites range in size from less than an acre to nearly 30,000 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Forest Service, county and municipal agencies, and private conservation organizations.

Below is a map of sites in Pennsylvania.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Berks, Bucks, Carbon, Centre, Chester, Clarion, Cumberland, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lawrence, Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Monroe, Perry, Philadelphia, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Warren, and Wayne.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Pennsylvania state map Ferncliff Wildflower and Wildlife Preserve Ferncliff Peninsula Natural Area Bear Meadows Natural Area McConnell's Mill State Park Hemlocks Natural Area Box Huckleberry Site Cook Forest Presque Isle Tionesta Scenic and Research Natural Areas Pine Creek Gorge Reynolds Spring and Algerine Swamp Bogs Monroe Border Fault Lake Lacawac Hawk Mountain Sanctuary Hickory Run Boulder Field The Glens Natural Area Susquehanna Water Gaps John Heinz National Wildlife Refuge at Tinicum Wissahickon Valley Nottingham Park Serpentine Barrnes Florence Jones Reineman Wildlife Sanctuary Tannersville Cranberry Bog Nay Aug Park Gorge and Waterfall Snyder-Middleswarth Natural Area Titus and Wattsburg Bogs Tamarack Swamp Hearts Content Scenic Area

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index