National Natural Landmarks by state


Devil's Canyon
Devil's Canyon, a National Natural Landmark in Oklahoma.

There are three National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Oklahoma. Natural features represented include the largest inland saline basin in the Central Lowlands biophysiographic province, a deeply eroded box canyon supporting many disjunct mesic plant species, and a classic example of a xeric upland oak-pine forest. Devil’s Canyon and McCurtain County Wilderness Area were both designated in 1974 and the Salt Plains National Wildlife Refuge received recognition as a NNL in 1983. Sites range in size from 160 acres to nearly 32,000 acres. Site ownership for these areas include U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, county government and a private organization.

Below is a map of sites in Oklahoma.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Alfalfa, Canadian, and McCurtain.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Oklahoma state map Salt Plains National Wildlife Refuge Devil's Canyon McCurtain County Wilderness Area

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index