National Natural Landmarks by state


Arthur B. Williams Memorial Woods
Arthur B. Williams Memorial Woods, a National Natural Landmark in Ohio.

There are 23 National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Ohio. Natural features represented include a variety of forest communities and marshes intertwined amongst striking and diverse glacial formations including bluffs, glacial grooves, and gorges. Several NNL sites are research areas, such as Hazelwood Botanical Preserve, at which ecological studies were published from 1929. The sites in Ohio received NNL designation between 1964 and 1980. Sites range in size from 3.5 acres to 12,800 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Forest Service, Ohio Department of Natural Resources, universities and colleges, Ohio Historical Society, Holden Arboretum, Metroparks, Cincinnati Museum, The Nature Conservancy and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Ohio.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Adams, Ashland, Belmont, Butler, Champaign, Cuyahoga, Delaware, Erie, Fairfield, Franklin, Fulton, Geauga, Greene, Hamilton, Highland, Lake, Licking, Pike, Portage, Preble, and Wayne.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Ohio state map Buzzardroost Rock-Lynx Prairie-The Wilderness Serpent Mound Cryptoexplosive Structure Fort Hill State Memorial Hazelwood Botanical Preserve Hueston Woods Glen Helen Natural Area Clifton Gorge Cedar Bog Cranberry Bog Highbanks Natural Area Clear Fork Gorge Brown's Lake Bog Goll Woods Crall Woods Glacial Grooves State Memorial Mantua Swamp Shite Pine Bog Forest Arthur B. Williams Memorial Woods Blacklick Woods Mentor Marsh Holden Natural Areas

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index