National Natural Landmarks by state


Ichthyosaur Site
Ichthyosaur Site, a National Natural Landmark in Nevada.

There are six National Natural Landmark sites within the state of Nevada. Natural features represented include the only known site containing fossil remains of 37 of the largest forms of Ichthyosaur, one of the largest and finest natural wetlands in Nevada, and an area that supports gila monsters at the most northern extreme of their range. All six sites received the NNL designation during a five-year period from 1968 to 1973. Sites range in size from 15 acres to nearly 264,000 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, U.S. Department of Defense, Bureau of Land Management, Nevada State Parks, Nevada Department of Wildlife, and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Nevada.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Clark, Elko, Nye, and White Pine.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Nevada state map Hot Creek Springs and Marsh Timber Mountain Caldera Valley of Fire Lunar Crater Ichthyosaur Site

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index