National Natural Landmarks by state

New Jersey

Great Falls of Paterson-Garret Mountain
Great Falls of Paterson-Garret Mountain, a National Natural Landmark in New Jersey.

There are 11 sites designated as National Natural Landmarks located entirely or partially within the state of New Jersey. Natural features represented include one of the finest remaining bottomland hardwood forests in the northern Atlantic Coastal Plain, the outlet for ancient glacial Lake Passaic, and the best example of a thick diabase sill formation known in the U.S. The first site to be designated a NNL in New Jersey was Stone Harbor Bird Sanctuary in 1965, and the most recent was Palisades of the Hudson in 1983. The 11 sites range in size from 15 acres to over 3,000 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, National Park Service, Palisades Interstate Park Commission, Rutgers University, counties, municipalities, and private conservation organizations and individuals.

Below is a map of sites in New Jersey.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Bergen, Cape May, Essex, Middlesex, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, and Warren.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

New Jersey state map Palisades of the Hudson Sunfish Pond Pigeon Swamp William L. Hutcheson Memorial Forest Moggy Hollow Natural Area Great Swamp Riker Hill Fossil Site Troy Meadows Manahawkin Bottomland Hardwood Forest Stone Harbor Bird Sanctuary Great Falls of Paterson-Garrett Mountain

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index