National Natural Landmarks by state

North Dakota

Two-Top Mesa and Big Top Mesa
Two-Top Mesa and Big Top Mesa, a National Natural Landmark in North Dakota.

There are four National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of North Dakota. Natural features represented include undisturbed prairie pothole lakes, which provide important staging and breeding habitat for diverse waterbird populations, and features representative of the glacial moraine and pitted outwash plain surface of North Dakota. Sites were designated over a 15-year period from 1965 to 1980. Ranging in size from 41 to 2,500 acres, these sites are owned by U.S. Forest Service, North Dakota Game and Fish Department and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in North Dakota.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Billings, Cavalier, Kidder, and Stutsman.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

North Dakota state map Fischer Lake Sibley Lake Two-Top Mesa and Big Top Mesa Rush Lake

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index