National Natural Landmarks by state


Bienville Pines Scenic Area
Bienville Pines Scenic Area, a National Natural Landmark in Mississippi.

There are five National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Mississippi. Natural features represented include one of the largest protected loblolly stands in the region and an ancient forest of fir and maple that was buried in Tertiary sands and is now exposed as petrified logs. All five sites received the NNL designation from 1965 to 1976. Sites range in size from 13 acres to over 260 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Forest Service and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Mississippi.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Calhoun, Madison, Scott, and Sharkey.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Mississippi state map Chestnut Oak Discjunct Green Ash-Overcup Oak-Sweetgum Research Natural Areas Mississippi Petrified Forest Bienville Pines Scenic Area Harrell Prairie Hill

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index