National Natural Landmarks by state


Itasca Natural Area
Itasca Natural Area, a National Natural Landmark in Minnesota.

There are eight National Natural Landmark sites located entirely or partially within the state of Minnesota. Natural features represented include an ice age river channel, an internationally known research site at the juncture of three major biomes, northern boreal and eastern deciduous forests, tall grass prairie, and extensive peatland illustrating various geologic formations and plant communities. All eight Minnesota sites received NNL designation between 1966 and 1975. Sites range in size from 640 acres to over 5,400 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, University of Minnesota, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, The Nature Conservancy and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Minnesota.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Anoka, Beltrami, Big Stone, Cass, Clearwater, Isanti, Koochiching, Lake, St. Louis, and Traverse.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Minnesota state map Upper Red Lake Peatland Lake Agassiz Peatlands Natural Area Itasca Natural Area Ancient River Warren Channel Cedar Creek Natural History Area-Allison Savanna Keeley Creek Natural Area Pine Point Research Natural Area Lac La Croix Research Natural Area

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.


  • Site Index