National Natural Landmarks by state


Hawley Bog
Hawley Bog, a National Natural Landmark in Massachusetts.

There are 11 sites designated as National Natural Landmarks within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. One site, Bartholomew’s Cobble, while located primarily within this state extends into Connecticut. Natural features represented include the only old-growth, red spruce stands known to occur in southern New England, 150-foot cliffs providing the most extensive and scenic exposure of Cretaceous and Tertiary formations on the New England islands, and the terminal moraine marking the maximum extent of the last glacial ice sheet. The first site in Massachusetts to be designated a NNL was Gay Head Cliffs in 1965 and the most recent was Mt. Greylock Old Growth Spruce in 1987. The 11 sites range in size from just over 20 acres to nearly 5,000 acres and are stewarded by a variety of landowners including the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation, The Nature Conservancy, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head, municipalities, and other private conservation organizations and individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Massachusetts.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Berkshire, Bristol, Dukes, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Middlesex, Nantucket, Plymouth, and Worcester.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Massachusetts state map Lynnfield Marsh North and South Rivers Acushnet Cedar Swamp Gay Head Cliffs Muskeget Island Fannie Stebbins Refuge Bartholomew's Cobble Poutwater Pond Hawley Bog Cold River Virgin Forest Mt. Greylock Old Growth Spruce

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index