National Natural Landmarks by state


Rock Creek Research Natural Area
Rock Creek Research Natural Area, a National Natural Landmark in Kentucky.

There are six National Natural Landmark sites located within the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Natural features represented include one of the largest protected tracts of old-growth forest in Kentucky, the longest natural bridge within the region, and the site referred to as the birthplace of vertebrate paleontology in North America. Lilley Cornett Woods, in 1971, was the first site in Kentucky to be designated a NNL and Big Bone Lick, in 2009, was the most recently designated site. NNL sites in this state range in size from 7 acres to over 11,000 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Forest Service, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife, Kentucky State Parks and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Kentucky.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Boone, Henderson, Jefferson, Laurel, Letcher, Menifee, Powell, Russell, Union, and Wolfe.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Kentucky state map Creelsboro Natural Bridge Rock Creek Research Natural Area Lilley Cornett Woods Red River Gorge Henderson Sloughs Big Bone Lick

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index