National Natural Landmarks by state


Volo Bog Nature Preserve
Volo Bog Nature Preserve, a National Natural Landmark in Illinois.

There are 18 National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Illinois. Natural features represented include large river and small stream valley ecosystems, diverse glacial landforms, and remnants of forest and prairie communities that once dominated the Illinois landscape. The sites in Illinois received NNL designation between 1965 and 1987. The sites range in size from 53 acres to over 6,500 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including the U.S. Forest Service, Illinois Department of Natural Resources, the University of Illinois, County Forest Preserve Districts, The Nature Conservancy and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Illinois.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Alexander, Carroll, Cook, Jackson, Johnson, Lake, McLean, Monroe, Piatt, Pope, Pulaski, Union, and Wabash.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Illinois state map Mississippi Palisades Funks Grove Allerton Natural Area Forest of the Wabash Fults Hill Prairie Nature Preserve Little Grand Canyon Area LaRue-Pine Hills Ecological Area Lower Cache River Swamp Horseshoe Lake Nature Preserve Heron Pond-Little Black Slough Natural Area Markham Prairie Busse Forest Nature Preserve Volo Bog Nature Preserve Lusk Creek Canyon Giant City Geological Area Bell Smith Springs Illinois Beach Nature Preserve

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index