National Natural Landmarks by state


Diamond Head
Diamond Head, a National Natural Landmark in Hawaii.

There are seven National Natural Landmark sites within the Hawaiian Islands. Natural features represented include an exposed portion of the highest insular mountain in the U.S., the only known breeding site of the black-crowned night heron, and the finest exposures and among the most ancient volcanic rocks in the Hawaiian Island chain. All seven sites were designated during the first decade of the NNL program from 1962 to 1972. Sites range in size from 128 acres to nearly 84,000 acres and are owned by Hawaii State Parks, Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources, The Nature Conservancy, Kamehameha Schools or private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Hawaii.

National Natural Landmark sites are located on the following islands: Hawaii, Maui, Molokai, and Oahu.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Hawaii state map Mauna Kea Makalawena Marsh I'ao Valley Kanaha Pond North Shore Cliffs Diamond Head Ko'olau Range Pali

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index