National Natural Landmarks by state


Lake Winona Research Natural Area
Lake Winona Research Natural Area, a National Natural Landmark in Arkansas.

There are five National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Arkansas. Natural features represented include excellent examples of three bottomland hardwood forest types, the third largest spring in the Ozark Mountains, a large virgin shortleaf pine forest. All five sites were designated NNLs within the five-year period of 1972 to 1976. Sites range in size from 28 acres to over 6,600 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and Arkansas State Parks.

Below is a map of sites in Arkansas.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Desha, Fulton, Mississippi, Polk, and Saline.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Arkansas state map Big Lake Natural Area White River Sugarberry Natural Area Mammoth Spring Lake Winona Research Natural Area Roaring Branch Research Natural Area

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index