National Natural Landmarks by state


Cathedral Caverns
Cathedral Caverns, a National Natural Landmark in Alabama.

There are seven National Natural Landmark sites located within the state of Alabama. Natural features represented include a tupelo gum swamp located unusually far north, cave ecosystems and karst topography, and one of the most important wetland ecosystems in the nation. All seven sites received NNL designation from 1971 to 1987. Sites range in size from 2 acres to nearly 185,000 acres and are owned by a variety of landowners including U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources and private individuals.

Below is a map of sites in Alabama.

National Natural Landmark sites are located in the following counties: Baldwin, Franklin, Jefferson, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, Mobile, Morgan, and Washington.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Alabama state map Mobile-Tensaw River Bottomlands Red Mountain Expressway Cut Dismals Beaverdem Creek Swamp Newsome Sinks Karst Area Cathedral Caverns Shelta Cave

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Experience More


  • Site Index