National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Pittsburg Commercial Historic District
Reference Number 13000175
State Texas
County Camp
Town Pittsburg
Street Address Commercial district located along Marshall, Quitman, Jefferson, Church, and College Streets, roughly from Cypress Street to North Street, Pittsburg, TX
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 04/16/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Community Planning and Development, Commerce
Link to full file
Starting in the mid 1850s, downtown Pittsburg grew to become an important commercial center in an area based largely on an agricultural economy. The Pittsburg Commercial Historic District includes historic commercial properties that retain architectural integrity, reflecting the historic character of the Pittsburg community and its development from the 1860s through the 1960s. The Pittsburg downtown area embodies the distinctive characteristics of many styles of commercial architecture, and the appearance and overall feeling of the district has changed very little. The Pittsburg Commercial Historic District is nominated under Criterion A in the areas of Commerce and Community Planning and Development, and Criterion C in the area of Architecture, at the local level of significance. The period of significance spans from 1862, which is the date of the earliest extant resource in the district, to 1965, which corresponds to the construction date of the four newest contributing properties within the district boundary.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria