Hancock Visitor Center

Musicians performing on the porch at the Bowles House Porch Pickin'.
Bowles House Porch Pickin'

NPS Photo


Nestled along the towpath at milepost 123 in Hancock, Maryland, the charming Bowles House has seen its share of American history. Arguably as intriguing as the structure, which offers a beautiful example of early 18th century architecture, is the Bowles' rich history. First traced to Lord Baltimore of England, the parcel of land known as "Sarah's Fancy", was transferred to the Yates family around 1775. William Yates developed the land and built the original one-story home in 1785. The Yates family resided there during construction of the C&O Canal which passed through Hancock in 1839. In 1875, during the peak of C&O Canal operations, the Bowles family acquired the property and remained occupants for nearly four decades. In 1905 the house and surrounding property were purchased by the Little family who resided in the home until the 1980's.

Visitor Centers

| Georgetown | Great Falls Tavern | Brunswick | Williamsport | Hancock | Cumberland |

Last updated: May 21, 2021

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

142 W. Potomac St.
Williamsport, MD 21795



Contact Us