Advisory Council

The Advisory Council for the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail, appointed by the Secretary of the Interior in 2008, consists of representatives of federal and state agencies, tribes, and Bay-related organizations. The Council consults with the Secretary on matters relating to the trail and assists the National Park Service in development and implementation, identifying significant trail resources, and other matters.

The Council is subject to the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act (5 USC App.), which includes the designation of a federal officer to oversee the management of the Council. The Designated Federal Officer is Assistant Superintendent, Jonathan Doherty. The Council reports to the Secretary of the Interior through the Director of the National Park Service.

The Advisory Council meets twice annually and the meetings are open to the public.

For a list of the current membership of the advisory council click here.

For information on the trail's Advisory Council, see Frequently Asked Questions.

To read summaries of previous meetings of the trail's Advisory Council, click here.

Last updated: September 28, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 210
Yorktown, VA 23690


(757) 898-3400

Contact Us