Frequently Asked Questions

What is a National Heritage Area? A National Heritage Area is a place designated by the United States Congress where natural, cultural, historic, and recreational resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally distinctive landscape arising from patterns of human activity shaped by geography. National Heritage Areas are locally governed institutions that encourage residents, government agencies, non-profit groups, and private partners to join together in planning and implementing programs that preserve and celebrate America's defining landscapes.

How are you managed? The National Heritage Area is managed by a Board of Directors served by a small staff in an office along the Blue Ridge Parkway. Our management plan, which guides our work and decision-making, is the product of a three-year effort with all 25 counties, the Qualla boundary and numerous Federal, state and local organizations and the private sector that provides a focus for our and our partners' projects and programs.

How do I apply for a Heritage Grant? The Blue Ridge National Heritage Area offers matching grants to provide and leverage funding for innovative projects across the region which preserve, protect, and promote the rich historical, cultural, and natural heritage of Western North Carolina while stimulating economic opportunity. Click here to learn more.

How can I get involved in what's happening in the Blue Ridge National Heritage Area? Opt-in to On the Blue Ridge, the BRNHA Partners Newsletter. Sign Up

How can I learn more? Visit our website.

Last updated: April 14, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Blue Ridge National Heritage Area
195 Hemphill Knob Road (Parkway Milepost 384)

Asheville, NC 28803


(828) 298-5330

Contact Us