National Park Service Big Cypress 33100 Tamiami Trail East
U.S. Department of the Interior National Preserve Ochopee, Florida 34141

239-695-1107 phone
239-695-3901 fax

Big Cypress ORV Permit Guidelines

It is a 3-Step Process to obtain an off-road vehicle permit for use of an ATV, Airboats, Swamp
Buggy or Street Legal - 4 X 4, in the Big Cypress National Preserve: 1) an operator’s permit

(free), 2) an inspection sticker (free), and 3) an annual vehicle permit ($50.00 per year) are
required. Motorcycles and other two-wheeled motorized vehicles are not permitted in the preserve
backcountry.

The ORV Permitting Office is located withn the Big Cypress National Preserve Oasis Visitor Center.
The office hours are Friday, Saturday, Sunday,and Monday, 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

EXPLANATIONS

1) Operator’s Permit

In order to get this identification card, you must come to the Big Cypress Visitor Center at Oasis,
located halfway between Naples and Miami on Highway 41 (Tamiami Trail). Bring your valid state
driver’s license or learner’s permit (required). Note — Those who have a learner’s permit must be
accompanied by a licensed adult 18 years or older (while operating an ORV) who also possess a Big
Cypress National Preserve ORV operator’s permit. Unlicensed drivers are not permitted to operate
ORVs in Big Cypress.

You will be shown a presentation and your photo will be taken. ORV staff will produce an operator’s
permit card while you watch the video. You are required to carry the operator’s permit with you
whenever you are operating an ORV in the Preserve.

It is extremely important that you provide the staff with current address, telephone and email (if
available) information so that we may send you mail with important updates on trails, regulations, and
ORV related news.

This part of the permit process will take approximately 45 minutes.

2) Vehicle Inspection Sticker

Bring your vehicle in to the visitor center on Fri, Sat, Sun, or Mon 9:00 am to 3:30 pm. The
inspection sticker is valid for 3 years, at which time, the vehicle will need a reinspection. ORV staff will
inspect your vehicle under the following guidelines:



ORV REQUIREMENTS
ATV 3 AND 4 WHEELERS (C)
Front Tires 7” minimum

Rear Tires 9” minimum
Working White Headlight
Working Red Tail Light
Muffler

VIN#

PROOF OF TITLE

AIRBOAT (A)

Working White Aft Light to be seen 360’
Current State Registration Decal

Hull Length 14’ max excluding grass rake

Width 8 max

Must have an automotive-style factory muffler
per Florida Statute 327.391

Minimum of 3” FL #’s displayed on each side of
the bow

OR

Minimum of 6” FL #’s displayed on both sides of
rudders

Orange Safety Flag 10x12” or larger- lown at
minimum 10 feet above vessel

Fire Extinguisher

PFD (Life Jackets)

Port and Starboard lights (Coast Guard
Requirement)

Hull Identification Number

SWAMP BUGGY (B)

All Tires Minimum of 9”

Working White Headlights

Working Red Tail Light

Muffler

Width 8 Max

Weight (will be weighted at inspection)
Title (for UTVs only)

Four-wheel drive

STREET LEGAL 4X4 (D)

Tires minimum of 9”

Working White Headlights

Working Red Tail Lights

VIN#

4 Wheel Drive

Mufller

Current Registration and Insurance
Weight (will be weighed at inspection)

3) Annual Vehicle Permit

Once you have obtained an operator’s permit
and your vehicle has passed the inspection and
received an inspection sticker, you may then
purchase the $50.00 annual ORV permit. These
permits are valid from January 1 of each

year to January 31 of the following year - a
thirteen-month period, however, they are
NOT prorated from the date of purchase. This
means that whatever your date of purchase is,

the permit will still expire on January 31, and
therefore it is more economical to purchase

it early in the year! Permits go on sale mid-
December of each year and 2,000 permits are
available each year. All permit sales are on a first-
come, first-served basis at this time, but a drawing
system may be used as demand approaches the
2,000 permit limit. Permits are not transferable
between vehicles.

It is strongly advised that you call the visitor
center at 239-695-1205 before you bring your
vehicle in. We may be able to save you time and
extra trips with a brief conversation before
your visit.
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