Pathways Programs

The Pathways Program offers current students and recent graduates paid internships and streamlined hiring programs to explore federal career opportunities.
Pathways consists of three excepted-service programs, the Internship Program, the Recent Graduates Program, and a reinvigorated Presidential Management Fellows (PMF) Program.

Learn more

Internship Program
The Pathways Internship Program offers current students enrolled in high school, college, trade school or other qualifying educational institutions paid opportunities to work with the National Park Service and explore careers while completing their education.
You can find current NPS student position job announcements on USAJOBS by clicking here.

Recent Graduates Program
This program targets recent graduates of trade and vocational schools, community colleges, universities, and other qualifying educational institutions.
Find out more on Office of Personnel Management's video introduction.
You can find current NPS recent graduate position job announcements on USAJOBS by clicking here.

Presidential Management Fellows

This program is for recent graduates with an advanced degree—either a professional or graduate degree such as a master’s, Ph.D. or J.D. You may be eligible if you:

  • Have completed an advanced degree from a qualifying educational institution or program within the past two years.
  • Are a current graduate student and will complete all of your degree requirements (including dissertations) by the PMF application deadline.

For additional information on how to apply for the Presidential Management Fellows Program please visit the PMF website.

Additional Resources:

For additional information, please contact the Pathways Coordinator in your region:

Alaska Region Northeast Region Southeast Region Southeast Region Midwest Region Intermountain Region Pacific West Region Pacific West Region
Region Coordinator Name(s) E-mail
Alaska Region Cherilyn Alexander cherilyn_alexander@nps.gov
Intermountain Region Mara Spicer
Krista Schuster
Natalia Sanchez
mara_spicer@nps.gov
krista_schuster@nps.gov
natalia_sanchez@nps.gov
Midwest Region Gail Purifoy
Charlotte Lussier
Bonnie Steggerda
gail_purifoy@nps.gov
charlotte_lussier@nps.gov
bonnie_steggerda@nps.gov
National Capital Region Michelle Kahoun michelle_kahoun@nps.gov
Northeast Region Edward (Charley) Ansty charley_ansty@nps.gov
Pacific West Region Karin Nichols
Susan Mical
karin_nichols@nps.gov
susan_mical@nps.gov
Southeast Region Shonda Shropshire
shonda_shropshire@nps.gov
Washington Office Makeba Coleman
makeba_coleman@nps.gov