National Park Service Press Release

National Park Preservation Efforts Recognized
For Immediate Release:
November 17, 2010
Contact(s):   Kathy Kupper, 202-208-6843,

National Park Preservation Efforts Recognized

Director Jarvis Announces Recipients of the Appleman-Judd-Lewis Awards

Washington, DC – It's not easy preserving the famous vistas of America’s most visited national park. However, Gary Johnson, the Blue Ridge Parkway's supervisory landscape architect, has literally written the book that helps maintain the endless scenery, fall colors, wildlife, trails, and Appalachian charm that attract 17 million people a year to the park.

Johnson's Guidebook for the Blue Ridge Parkway Scenery Conservation System provides effective methods of analysis and actions needed to protect the 469-mile-long treasure. He also developed a tool kit which created defensible standards for the management of scenery. In recognition of his accomplishments, Johnson will receive a National Park Service Appleman-Judd-Lewis Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management.

The Appleman-Judd-Lewis Awards were established in 1970 to recognize National Park Service employees who excel in the field of cultural resource stewardship and management. The awards are named for three distinguished former employees: historian Roy E. Appleman, historical architect Henry A. Judd, and curator Ralph H. Lewis. The other recipients this year are Susan Dolan from Mount Rainier National Park (WA), Tom Bradley from Jefferson National Expansion Memorial (MO), and Jim Baker from Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve (AK).

Dolan, a historical landscape architect, will also receive an Appleman-Judd-Lewis Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management. Dolan wrote Fruitful Legacy: A Historic Context of Orchards in the United States, with Technical Information for Registering Orchards in the National Register of Historic Places. This document provides park managers nationwide with the tools needed to nominate historic fruit trees and orchards for listing in the National Register.

Bradley will receive the Appleman-Judd-Lewis Award for Cultural Resource Stewardship for Superintendents. Since becoming superintendent in 2008, Bradley has worked to protect the historic values of the Gateway Arch landscape. Most importantly, he worked with public and private stakeholders to complete the park's first General Management Plan. The plan carefully defines the historical significance and character features of the National Historic Landmark arch and its surroundings. The plan also proposes to revitalize the memorial through expanding programs, facilities, and partnerships in collaboration with a recently completed international design competition.

Baker will receive the Appleman-Judd-Lewis Award for Cultural Resource Stewardship through Maintenance. The maintenance supervisor has spent the last 10 years overseeing the preservation of the Kennecott Mines National Historic Landmark located within Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve. Baker's team is stabilizing and rehabilitating the area, which had been abandoned and unmaintained since 1938. Although the work is not finished, the team has already repaired roofs and foundations, realigned collapsing walls, and preserved 20 historic structures.

“Preservation is about deciding what's important, figuring out how to protect it, and passing along an appreciation to others. All four recipients have excelled in all of these aspects,” said National Park Service Director Jonathan Jarvis. “They have each made significant and lasting contributions and exhibited creativity and expertise in the protection of cultural resources entrusted to the care of the National Park Service.”

The National Park Service is an internationally recognized leader in historic preservation. Its archeologists, architects, curators, historians, and other cultural resource professionals preserve, protect, and share the history of this country and its people. The 393 national parks contain 27,000 historic structures, 66,000 archeological sites, and more than 115 million museum items.

The National Park Service also works beyond the parks as part of a national preservation partnership that includes American Indian tribes, states, local governments, nonprofit organizations, and historic property owners. The National Park Service has awarded $1.2 billion in preservation grants and incentivized more than $55 billion in private investment in historic preservation through its federal tax credit program. The agency oversees 27 National Heritage Areas; the National Register of Historic Places, which has 80,000 listings; and the National Historic Landmarks Program, which has recognized more than 2,400 significant places across the country.

printer Printer Friendly